Daily Archives: July 2, 2002

Maryland Wages War on Invasive Walking Fish I’l…

Maryland Wages War on Invasive Walking Fish

I’ll bet. Fish are disturbing enough in the water, but when they’re on the sidewalk… Do you think they come into your houses at night?

Dean Devlin and Roland Emmerich aren’t only bad fi…

Dean Devlin and Roland Emmerich aren’t only bad filmmakers, they’re loathsome human beings.

CNN.com – Saudi princess fined $1,000 for pushing …

CNN.com – Saudi princess fined $1,000 for pushing maid down stairs – July 2, 2002

That’ll teach her! In some way I’m not quite clear on, but I’m sure she won’t do it again anywhere she’s likely to get caught.

allAfrica.com: Mugabe to Root Out Gays Bobby M …

allAfrica.com: Mugabe to Root Out Gays

Bobby M apparently has a new cause — getting rid of all the gay people in his government. Two weeks ago he issued an order to begin a crackdown on “sexual perverts”. It should be fun watching the reflexive anti-American left come up with an excuse for this behavior. On the other hand, maybe Mugabe should reach out to Christian Conservatives over here. If they’re willing to cozy up to Islamic despots to attack abortion, why not Mugabe to attack gays?

I’ll say

Great Moments in Headline Writing

Russia: Midair Collision Raises Questions Of Air Safety

Not much to add to that.

Where Am I? It now appears that the comments ar…

Where Am I?

It now appears that the comments are down; if you have anything to say, I guess you need to say it with Email. I like getting email, except from people claiming to be the widow or child of Mobutu Seke Seko.

UPDATE: Back up, it appears. Comment away.

The very first snakehead post

Maryland Wages War on Invasive Walking Fish

I’ll bet. Fish are disturbing enough in the water, but when they’re on the sidewalk… Do you think they come into your houses at night?

New Zealand News – NZ – Editorial: US court stance…

New Zealand News – NZ – Editorial: US court stance deceitful

I’ll point to you Den Beste’s latest entry on the ICC to begin with. The American stance is only “deceitful” in the sense that we haven’t made clear that we can’t take part in the ICC. Even if the President signed it, the Senate would never approve, and even if it approved it, the Supreme Court would strike it down as unconstitutional. It can’t be done. The only deceit was by the American representatives who made the Euros think that it could be done.

The deceitfulness of this editorial, meanwhile, is open. It says that the court will be constrained by “facts”, but whose facts? Somebody says that the US is responsible for killing a million Iraqi babies? That’s not true, but it won’t keep someone from bringing Presidents Bush (both of them) and Clinton on charges. And whether the facts are believed depends upon the judges, and anyone should know that. If anyone believed for a second that this sort of thing wouldn’t happen, Ariel Sharon being brought up on charges in Belgium shows otherwise.

Who Am I? Apparently, Blogger has lost the tags…

Who Am I?

Apparently, Blogger has lost the tags that make my name show up. For any newcomers who’ve dropped in, my name is Mac Thomason, and this is my weblog.

Just a note… I wrote a letter to Romenesko on s…

Just a note… I wrote a letter to Romenesko on someone who thought that asinine attempt by Rick Reilly to get Sammy Sosa to take a steroids test was a good idea. Media-type people don’t seem to see why Sosa would have a problem with this. They also don’t see why people hate the media.