Daily Archives: July 5, 2002

Department of Getting What You Pay For Site Met…

Department of Getting What You Pay For

Site Meter – Counter and Statistics Tracker

This sucks. Here I am getting a big hit day, 250 so far, a lot for a day when a lot of people are off work. (Thanks, Meryl! Also, thanks to the kind soul who posted the link to the Space Ghost Group on the rec.arts.tv.mst3k.misc newsgroup. MST3K Lives!) It’s a big one especially since Reynolds is on vacation — when he’s posting I get about 100 a day from his blogroll, down to about 20 a day this week. And the Blogger server goes down. Sigh. Hopefully, by late tonight someone will be able to read this.

What really bugs me is that at the very top of the page I forgot to close the link tag of the Susan Parker article and it’s just sitting there, taunting me, and I can’t do anything about it.

Ev, who is not enjoying his Friday (I’m not partic…

Ev, who is not enjoying his Friday (I’m not particularly enjoying his Friday either, but I’m glad I don’t have his problems right now) notes how webloggers these days tend to link to the printer-friendly forms articles (where available) rather than the standard. He wonders if the sites are paying attention. My guess is that they will when they realize their ads aren’t being paid attention to. I don’t mind the ads, it’s the sucky designs that bug me. Hey, I’m not the greatest web designer in the world — far from it — but even I realize the value of not cluttering up the page with huge amounts of pointless graphics and internal links no one ever uses.

California governor says state won’t divest Israel…

California governor says state won’t divest Israeli holdings

Some ridiculous Arab-American groups have been pressuring the state pension fund to divest in Israel. It’s probably not a coincidence that the day after the LAX shooting Davis said it wouldn’t.

Cougar spotted near Mattawa schools Kinda puts …

Cougar spotted near Mattawa schools

Kinda puts those deer that occasionally jump through plate glass in perspective, don’t it?

Ananova – Fishermen should let the big ones get aw…

Ananova – Fishermen should let the big ones get away

That’s the suggestion of a new study, which says that it’s better for the species to keep the little fish and throw the big ones back. This could be a real boon for bad fishermen everywhere. “Yup, I caught this one last year. It’s a three-ouncer. ‘Course, there was was the fifteen-pounder I caught as well, but I had to throw it back. Good for the species.” Otherwise, I don’t think this will catch on. You ever try to stuff and mount a two-inch-long bass?

FBI: Gunman Went to L.A. Airport Intending to Kill…

FBI: Gunman Went to L.A. Airport Intending to Kill (washingtonpost.com)


“It appears he went there with the intention of killing. Why he did that is what we are still trying to determine,” FBI agent Richard Garcia said one day after the shootout at the nation’s third-busiest airport.

Well, let me guess. He’s an Egyptian, right? One who showed hostility to the US, immigrant or no. And he shot up the ticket counter of the Israeli national airline.

Heck, I don’t know. Maybe he was upset because the in-flight movie last time was “Snow Dogs”. (UPDATE: Laurence thinks it was “Yentl”, nearly as bad of a movie leaving aside its theme. Great minds.) But it wasn’t terrorism! I’m glad we got that straight.

The Nando Times: George Harrison attacker ordered …

The Nando Times: George Harrison attacker ordered released from hospital

“Hey, the guy he attacked is dead, might as well let him go.”

British PM’s wife to host reception for Israeli te…

British PM’s wife to host reception for Israeli terror victims

Apparently Cherie Blair thinks this will make up for her “Oh, those poor Palestinian suicide bombers, they’re only doing this because they have no hope” comments of a few weeks ago.

Eventually, this will get published… New Zeal…

Eventually, this will get published…

New Zealand News – NZ – Arrested Air NZ worker took US flying course in own time

Funny how the Kiwis don’t seem to think it particularly noteworthy that the “Air NZ worker” was Saddam Hussein’s stepson! Anyway, as I noted in the comments section, it looks like he’s just dumb and didn’t realize that his tourist visa didn’t cover that.

The Nando Times: U.K. government workers plan firs…

The Nando Times: U.K. government workers plan first strike since 1979

Man, I guess that beheading of Maggie Thatcher’s statue was voodoo or something.