Great, racists

Racial slur, threat against Obama at UA – Breaking News from The Birmingham News – al.com

I got an email last week from the Provost condemning the tearing down of a poster and a graffiti slur against a political candidate. No further details. Turns out that the candidate was (surprise!) Barack Obama, and that the slur was (surprise!) racial.

The only thing that actually surprised me was that it was at the College of Communication. I figured it would be History, which has traditionally been crawling with neo-Confederates.

5 responses to “Great, racists

  1. My kid (sr in hs) is seriously considering a history major at UA. Should I be worried he’ll be surrounded by racist crackpots?

  2. I don’t know — things may have changed since I was there. When my sister took her history survey courses, her professor was an out-and-out secessionist.

  3. Oh great. He’s been filling out the scholarship application all week. I guess this is the kind of thing you don’t read about in the college guides.

  4. e. nonee moose

    A history degree from U of A will get you into Tennessee’s law school.

    Indeed.

  5. there were a few of those folks with me in law school. they had some crazy views in con law. and in a constitutional history class, they said lincoln’s name like it was a four letter word.

Leave a Reply

