Efficiencies

Bruno’s could close stores if no buyer is found | TuscaloosaNews.com | The Tuscaloosa News | Tuscaloosa, AL

Bruno’s is a veteran, once locally-owned, grocery chain that once upon a time dominated the local market. And then, it was bought out by the geniuses at KKR, and as was so often the case, handed around to other owners who picked it clean until it was utterly ruined. And now, a large employer is on the verge of collapse, and if someone doesn’t buy in thousands of people will be out of jobs. Obviously, this is because of unions.

5 responses to “Efficiencies

  1. I hope you’re being sarcastic about the “unions” comment.

    Bruno’s at the Summit in Birmingham was great. Then Publix moved in, and it was even better.

    The last time I went into a Bruno’s, on Perry Hill Rd., it was pathetic. It looked like one of those dented-can emporiums.

  2. I thought the sarcasm was pretty clear.

  3. e. nonee moose

    The last time I went into a Bruno’s, on Perry Hill Rd., it was pathetic.

    Ah, a fellow Montgomerian! I don’t think the Perry Hill Rd. Bruno’s is so bad, it’s just expensive. I only shop there because it’s convenient as I live close by.

    If Bruno’s closes then that whole shopping center goes down the pooper especially considering that they already lost Rite-Aid and Movie Gallery. Chappy’s Deli might be the only thing there that can manage to stay open…

  4. When I walk into a Bruno’s, I’m almost too depressed to draw breath.

    Forget mere ‘pleasure.’ Shopping at Publix is f*cking Mardi Gras by comparison.

  5. The first time I visited the Publix here, they were so nice I was afraid it was a cult.

Leave a Reply

