It would probably raise my income taxes

Bills would end grocery sales tax, cut state taxes for most Alabama families- al.com

But I’m for it anyway.

4 responses to “It would probably raise my income taxes

  1. It looks to me like an instant 4% bump in profits for Winn-Dixe, Bruno’s and Publix.

  2. Yeah, that grocery cartel is tough to break.

  3. Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s a good idea in the sense that if you’re going to cut taxes then you should cut the regressive ones. But it is hard to say how it would really impact the lives of the average working class family. Would that family now be getting $100 worth of groceries for only $96? Would they be getting $104 worth for the same $100? Or do the supermarkets jack up the prices and the consumer is stuck right where they were before? I honestly don’t know…

  4. Maybe I’m naive, but in the Age of Wal-Mart, I can’t believe that grocery stores wouldn’t act to “pass the savings on to the customer,” as the hackneyed phrase has it.

Leave a Reply

