Unfortunately for her…

Birmingham woman told police she thought it OK to leave sleeping children home alone with oven and burner on; one died- al.com

The “mental defect” part of “not guilty by reason of mental defect” does not normally include “being rock-stupid”.

One response to “Unfortunately for her…

  1. I don’t know what to say about this. I certainly wouldn’t leave a nine-year-old and a three-year-old in a house for hours while I went to a party. But I have to admit, I wouldn’t think twice about, say, going across the street to a neighbor’s house and leaving the same children in a house with a roast in the oven, with the nine-year-old maybe watching TV and the three-year-old asleep.

    I’m also wondering how she thought an oven and a burner – was it an electric stove, I wonder? – had been heating the house all this time. I wonder what they were set on? It just seems to me that it would be pretty difficult to set a cabinet on fire with a stove burner, unless the cabinet was way too close to the burner to begin with.

Leave a Reply

