Hey, it’s not the Parent-Teetotaler Organization!

PTO president charged with giving alcohol to teen – NewsFlash – al.com

So she gave booze to a thirteen-year-old? Has anyone asked the thirteen-year-old what he thinks about it? I bet he thinks it’s great! Best PTO President ever!

2 responses to “Hey, it’s not the Parent-Teetotaler Organization!

  1. e. nonee moose

    Link is broken? Newsflash is down?

    Anyway, blindly commenting on this but I think most people would be surprised at the true source of most teen alcohol problems… THE PARENTS. It’s pretty common for wealthy well-off parents to throw big keg parties for their teenagers for homecoming or prom or whatever. Maybe the rationale is, “Hey, if my kid is drinking in my backyard then I at least know where he is”, but I don’t buy it.

  2. I’m not giving them keg parties, but I did fail the test at parentalyzer.org. I don’t think a sip of wine at Christmas dinner will turn them into alcoholics; we don’t lock up the liquor like a Colonial housewife locking up the tea from the servants; they’ve seen my husband drink a beer or glass of wine before getting in the car; and what’s more, we’ve left them here alone for a weekend (albeit heavily supervised by the world’s nosiest neighbors). Maybe we’re just lucky, but no problems so far, touch wood. Of course, I can’t know for sure, because I don’t snoop on their Facebook pages, read their diaries, or require them to check in from a land line so I can know where they are at all times.

Leave a Reply

