Oooh, I hate these cases

Don Henley sues Senate candidate over song use – CNN.com

Don Henley versus a California Republican? Is there any way they could both lose?

5 responses to “Oooh, I hate these cases

  1. Not that I’m rooting for the Republican, but isn’t this just the same kind of thing Weird Al does, which is protected by free speech?

  2. e. nonee moose

    Weird Al’s music is definitely parody which can be seen as commentary on or criticism of the original work. That’s why Al gets a pass. Using altered lyrics of a song in a political campaign seems very different to me.

    Note… Weird Al tends to ask permission anyway, even if he doesn’t have to.

  3. Coolio (oooh, scary) got mad at Al for using “Gangsta’s Paradise”, which surprised Al, because he thought he’d gotten permission. And when Paul McCartney turned down Al’s version of “Live and Let Die” (“Chicken Pot Pie”) for vegetarian reasons, Al dumped the song.

    Yes, I am a fountain of Al Yankovic trivia.

  4. “Chicken Pot Pie.” And you’re telling me the world will never be granted this shining gem of hilarity. (I’m serious, I’m cracking up just typing it.)

  5. Pingback: Weekend link dump for April 26 « Off the Kuff

Leave a comment