Democracy! Literacy! Sexy!

I just want to briefly condemn the description of Sarah Palin as a “sexy librarian” type. I am not disparaging Governor Palin’s attractiveness, nor am I defending the honor of my profession. I am mostly just concerned about the English language, as “sexy librarian” is an obvious redundancy. All librarians are sexy. I, myself, am an almost unspeakable fount of sexual charisma.

5 responses to “Democracy! Literacy! Sexy!

  1. Besides, Palin’s never been a librarian. Laura Bush (and my Mom!), on the other hand. . .

  2. What, is it because of the glasses? What about all that fishin’ and huntin’ and snowmobilin’?

  3. It’s obviously the glasses. She’s no librarian, and is actively opposed to what we stand for.

    According to the Frontiersman newspaper, Wasilla’s library director, Mary Ellen Emmons, said that Palin asked her outright if she “could live with censorship of library books.” Palin later dismissed the conversation as a “rhetorical” exercise.

    More seriously, she racked up an almost Langfordian record as mayor of her tiny little town (smaller than Pleasant Grove):

    Palin, who portrays herself as a fiscal conservative, racked up nearly $20 million in long-term debt as mayor of the tiny town of Wasilla — that amounts to $3,000 per resident. She argues that the debt was needed to fund improvements.

  4. Not only that, but one of her first acts as mayor was to fire the town librarian, who’d supported her opponent. Can’t recall where I read that or I’d give a link.

Leave a comment