Daily Archives: June 3, 2008

CNN just interviewed Jesse Jackson. On the phone. From Tanzania.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

YES WE DID!

CNN projects Obama clinches nomination – CNN.com

Take your time, Bud

U.S. Rep. Bud Cramer still hasn’t chosen Obama or Clinton – Breaking News from The Birmingham News – al.com

Sheesh. He doesn’t even have the “I don’t want to piss off the more crackeriffic of my constituents by endorsing Obama” excuse, nor the “I don’t want to piss off my African-American constituents by endorsing Hillary” excuse, because he’s not running for re-election. (FWIW, his district is at the very southern extreme of that “Appalachia Loves Hillary” map.)

As for missile defense, Cramer said he brought up to the Obama campaign the effort to get another missile defense site in Europe. He said he did not get any clear commitments on that.

Well, I guess that means that the people he spoke to didn’t actually laugh in his face. If he is really trying to get one of them to pander to him by talking up Star Wars… well, that’s not going to happen, and he can’t be that stupid. I don’t know what his deal is, but it’s annoying and he should just endorse Obama, who is the nominee, today.

Kiss her goodbye

TPM Election Central | Talking Points Memo | AP: Obama Has Clinched The Nomination

I have my limits

One of them is that I won’t deal with Ron Paul people. This is a little-bitty website and maybe it’s little-bitty of me, but I can’t take them. Anyway, I just deleted rather than approve a comment from a Ron Paul person about how there are “more important things” than dealing with climate change. There are no more important things. The very existence of civilization is threatened by climate change. These nutjobs are unable to believe this because, well, they’re nutjobs, but it’s true.

I hate it when this happens

Langford says Lipscomb and Brighton would benefit by annexing into Birmingham – Breaking News from The Birmingham News – al.com

I… I… I agree with Lary Langford.

Though they’d be better off in the short term if they joined up with Bessemer and its non-crazy mayor. Long-term, assuming BMLL doesn’t completely destroy the city, Birmingham is a better bet. There are far, far too many municipalities in Jefferson County.

Birmingham News unfair to Jeff Sessions!

Alabama senators Sessions, Shelby critical of cap-and-trade global warming bill- al.com

They insinuate that the Evil Little Troll opposes this sensible piece of legislation because he’s in the pocket of energy concerns.

Political action committees affiliated with Southern Co. and several of its employees are regular contributors to the re-election accounts of both Alabama senators. Collectively they add up to become Sessions’ largest contributor over the past six years, at about $76,000, according to the Center for Responsive Politics. They add up to $62,000 for Shelby, his fourth-highest contributor.

This is completely unjust. True, Sessions is in the pocket of energy concerns. But he would oppose this bill anyway because it’s all sciency and stuff and would solve problems he refuses to believe in.